Posted by: ~KC~ | August 13, 2007

The Perils of the Afterglow…

Few have strength of reason to overrule the perceptions of sense, and yet fewer have curiosity or benevolence to struggle long against the first impression: he who therefore fails to please in his salutation and address is at once rejected, and never obtains an opportunity of showing his latest excellences or essential qualities.” ~ Author Unknown 

They say the first impression is the most lasting.  But can that change over time?  Do we have the strength to see past our pre-conceived notions, our perceptions and allow a person’s true character to manifest itself despite what we initially experienced?  

I sure hope so 

But at what point does that impression start and where does it end?  I wonder such things because I broke one of the important ‘rules’ of dating and I wonder is the ‘damage’ irreversible?  Can the impression made, despite the pleasure, that instant gratification, survive and be more?  

Again, I sure hope so 

Time and time again, I change my mind and perceptions of things and people as I mature and evolve.  But I don’t expect others to do the same… although I sure wish they all did.  The hardest part is trying to keep your cool, have faith in yourself to know you are more than what transpired (although not bad but the ‘rules’ of engagement are broken)… I have never been a psycho chick or the kind of female that stalks men.  But I would love to have my fears appeased and given that reassurance that all is well in our world.  All I can do is allow myself to be vulnerable and wait… fully knowing that no matter what, at the end of the day, I will be OK. 

I really like this guy… but such are the perils of the afterglow…  

Responses

  1. I shall now give you the same *advice* that I passed along to another friend recently. Not that you need the advice since you seem to have already mentioned it above.

    Sit back, relax. What happens is what’s meant to be. Don’t force it.

    But as you already know this…count it as agreement.

    Hope you’re doing well. I like your new page. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

