Posted by: ~KC~ | August 18, 2007

Change

Without accepting the fact that everything changes, we cannot find perfect composure.  But unfortunately, although it is true, it is difficult for us to accept it.  Because we cannot accept the truth of transience, we suffer.  ~Shunryu Suzuki

Time and time again, I have been asked why am I moving?  Why have I chosen to blog at WordPress and leave MSN Windows Live (Spaces)?  Does a person really have to justify their actions and choices???  As my father recently said – you write for yourself, not for others – so ultimately, I made a choice that I have been deliberating on all summer, to the dismay of some and the blessings of others.  

Faced with the choice between changing one’s mind and proving that there is no need to do so, almost everyone gets busy on the proof.  ~John Kenneth Galbraith

Change is not something that everyone embraces.  Many fight it tooth and nail… making excuses for everything to justify why there is such a need to keep repeating the same thing over and over again.  Some find comfort in the stability of all things mundane, the routine, the well-known, beaten path.  We hold onto to what we know of the past and pray that the world doesn’t change too much so as to unsettle our tomorrows.  We spend so much time trying to avoid change that in the end, it makes us liars in life… for we fail to live our truths.   And so we reject others who actively seek out change, something new and different for fear they might be asking of us… more … in lieu of seeing as an opportunity for growth.  But who am I to ask people to stop living in fear… to be living in predictability?  I am afterall only responsible for myself in this lifetime… and to honor the journey that I am on.

Stubborness does have its helpful features.  You always know what you are going to be thinking tomorrow.  ~Glen Beaman

I am mutable.  I am adaptable.  I also enjoy newness… changes of scenery.  I enjoy expansion and conquoring the new worlds that exist within me.  I am a Sagittarius.  Its in my blood.  I grew up moving so often that at the age of 18, I had stopped counting after 30 times I had moved.  I moved many more times after the age of 18.  Not by choice really – a child follows its family wherever they go.  As an adult, I realised that I can change my environment but keep my home – to have one place that is my own… something that I love.  I didn’t have to up and move everything everytime I had itchy feet.  I could go wander wherever my spirit urged me while having a home to come back too.   I am a camillion.  To fight change is a loosing battle… in fact, I try my utmost to embrace it even though it might be difficult for  me or those around me.  It might take some time… but I get there eventually.

You can avoid having ulcers by adapting to the situation:  If you fall in the mud puddle, check your pockets for fish.  ~Author Unknown

I have been seeking opportunities to expand my horizons these past few months.  In all areas of my life, not just in geography… but I wanted to manifest it in all areas of my being.  It’s a slow process – one that I am trying not to fight… but instead to embrace.  Not everyone gets that.  People whom I have grown very close too have been falling to the wayside of my life.  That hurts… but this is my life’s journey.  Writing is my safe haven… it is my home of sorts… the domain simply looks different.  I have found trumendous enjoyment in reading the small community of bloggers found at WordPress… feeding my eyes and excitement with the possibility of improving my writing skills and educating my soul.  I feel inspired by the trumendous ‘newer’ blogs and its authors.  I am looking to be challenged… to have my mind changed of my perceptions and beliefs… for fear of becoming stagnant.

The man who never alters his opinion is like standing water, and breeds reptiles of the mind.  ~William Blake

I can’t find fault in those who wish to remain where they do.  But it should not have come as a surprise that I moved – afterall… I have been speaking of it for a while now.  I try very hard to live by my words… to live my own truth.  I am trying really hard to not be stubborn in my thoughts and heart – to be so frigid that I could possibly be missing out on opportunities because I am wearing blinders to the possibilities that surround me.  I refuse to be one of those people… but I am only human, and so I fail miserably at times.  So this new blog is my attempt at picking myself up, dusting myself off… taking on what could possibly be an opportunity for growth and expansion… leaving behind me what was and perhaps a few who choose to remain exactly… There. 

It was a beautiful season… but we cannot deny that even the seasons must change.

We would rather be ruined than changed;
We would rather die in our dread
Than climb the cross of the moment
And let our illusions die.

~W.H. Auden
 

Responses

  1. Hello you – love your new home and your full frontal embrace of change.

    You’re making new homes on many fronts, aren’t you?

    Good on ya.

    I’m playing iTunes right now and so I have U2’s Desire meshing with your reggae tune….it’s a great blend.

    Cheers…

    DDS


Leave a Reply

Categories

