Posted by: ~KC~ | May 21, 2008

Canada on the Presidential Race…

Although clearly stating I am a Liberal/Democrat, I have not stated which Democrat candidate I would vote for should, I a Canadian, was ever given the opportunity to vote.  This attached article in no way represents who I would vote for.

 

I found this article to be rather interesting… and thought I would share with you… who Canadians would be likely to vote for should they ever be given the opportunity to vote on American politics.

 

 

OTTAWA – Democrat Barack Obama would crush Republican John McCain in the U.S. presidential race by an almost four-to-one margin – 56 per cent to 15 – if it were up to Canadians.

That’s the conclusion of a new Canadian Press-Harris-Decima poll that, for the first time, gauges Canadian opinion on a head-to-head contest between the Republican candidate and the presumptive Democratic nominee.

The same survey suggests Canadians consider the current occupant of the White House, George W. Bush, among the worst presidents ever – if not the worst.

Forty-two per cent of respondents called Bush one of the worst presidents in U.S. history, 23 per cent said he was the absolute worst.

Only four per cent said he was among the better ones, and less than one per cent called Bush the best ever.

…..

“While Canadians generally tilt more towards the Democratic Party than the Republican Party, this degree of disaffection is quite remarkable,” said the head of Harris-Decima.

“It cuts across the political spectrum. Very few Conservatives in Canada are prepared to say they have been satisfied, let alone enthusiastic about the accomplishments of Mr. Bush.”

While some of that antipathy toward the incumbent Republican could explain Canadians’ overwhelming support for the presumed Democratic nominee, Anderson says Canadians like Obama for other reasons.

He says the candidate’s three main promises are in lock-step with Canadian public opinion. His public declarations that he would renegotiate NAFTA appear, so far, to have ruffled few Canadian feathers.

Obama has said his first priorities in office would be expanding public health care, ending the war in Iraq, and creating an integrated environmental-energy policy.

“They’re pretty consistent with Canadian values,” Anderson said.

….

While the Illinois senator has struggled somewhat with lower-income and female voters in his primary contests against Hillary Clinton, the survey suggests he would not have no problem with them in Canada.

He received statistically identical support levels from men and women, and from respondents in different income categories.

The survey of 1,000 Canadians was conducted May 15-18 and is considered accurate to within 3.1 percentage points, 19 times in 20.

And for now… I will keep my personal observations as to whom I believe the ideal American Democrat candidate is… I can say with the utmost certainty, as like most Canadians – ANYONE… almost ANYTHING… is better than G.W. Bush at this point.

Responses

  1. -So I take it all of those people that think that GW was the worst president in the history of the United States apparently don’t recall Jimmy Carter, Howard Taft, or the government expansionist FDR, to name a few.

    Yeah, like anyone knows actual history these days.

    I love it when polls are given out that are so obviously biased about a governmental position that has had a number of people that have populated it as to eliminate any true opinions being revealed.

    A few things that did NOT happen when Bush was pres:

    1. I don’t recall a WORLD war happening on his watch (WWI, WWII)
    2. I didn’t notice a 21% unemployment rate during his presidency (Great Depression)
    3. I don’t remember in-fighting amongst the states (Civil War)
    4. Mexico, a neighboring country, has not declared OPEN WAR on the States recently (War of 1812, Spanish-American War)
    5. I can still drive up to the pumps and get fuel on any day of the week unlike…(Fuel rationing during late 70’s)

    I could go on. One thing that has sorely lacked in evaluations of GW as the current president is a sense of historical perspective or a comparison of his presidency to previous ones PRIOR TO KENNEDY. Trust me there were worse.

    (Sorry KC, for some reason I’ve been in an “aggressive” mood lately.)

  2. I see. I wonder why?? LOL…
    You are entitled to express your opinion any day… you know that!

  3. You called it earlier.

    As I said, all three.

  4. Immediate geographical limitations make it imppossible for me to offer my assistance… but… I do hope you can figure something out to help you cope and relieve things sooner rather than later!

  5. No matter what side of the fence I sit on politically I am firm in the belief that we need a fresh perspective sitting in the White House.

  6. AMEN sista!


Leave a Reply

Categories

