Posted by: ~KC~ | May 26, 2008

Big Bike Ride for Heart & Stroke

Every year – I ride this unique 30 seater bike throughout my city (we don’t go far actually… only 5 km) to raise funds for the Heart and Stroke Foundation.

This cause is extremely important to me since I lost several grandparents and my mother to heart disease… and it is also the disease that is killing my father. Knock on wood – my heart is good…. and I suppose in more ways than one.

I am the team Captain… 5th year running. I try to raise as much money as I can for this wacky event… here are a few photos of last years team…. (I smudged the team name for privacy since it is the company name)

This is what the big bike looks like…

This is a 30 seater bike (1 driver provided by the H&S and 29 pedellers) – you don’t see me, I’m hidden in the back (this is the 2006 team).  The ride take approximately 12-15 minutes… ridden in the downtown core of my town.

 I’m the Goof Ball in the Back with Her Hands Waving in the Air in this 2007 team picture 

 

 This year is no different. We ride on
Friday, June 13, 2008

Yup. I chose that date… The only Friday the 13th all year. It will be good luck!

As a team, we raise an average of $2,500-$3,000. My personal goal this year is to try and raise $1,000 and as a team $4,000. Last year, I didn’t have much time for fundraising – but I managed to raise $800 in one day… so… I think giving myself a few months lead – I would be able to meet my goal! My challenge is to find fundraisers – many people aren’t comfortable with fundraising… but not me!!!

Where possible, you can help me raise funds for the Heart and Stroke Foundation by sponsoring me online. Just click the link at the bottom of this post to access my secure pledge page. People from all over the world can sponsor me in this event, and immediately, you can print out your charitable donation income tax receipt, where necessary.

The Heart and Stroke Foundation leads the way in protecting the health of millions at risk of heart disease and stroke, around the world. One in three deaths in Canada are due to heart disease and stroke. They need our help!

You can help me reach my personal fundraising goal by sponsoring me online. When you click on the link below, you will be taken to my personal donation page where you can make a secure online credit card donation. I understand that people are always looking for some type of donation, but as a friend your support would mean so much to me!

Thanks for your support… be it in spirit or financially… both are more than welcomed!!!
KC

****************************************************************
Copy and paste the following into your browser:
http://www.kintera.org/faf/r.as…
****************************************************************

Just as an after thought… your donations is helping support:
– Fighting to eliminate artery-clogging trans fats from processed foods that are available almost everywhere – including schools.
– Encouraging kids to make heart-healthy lifestyle choices in fun, challenging ways through a curriculum-based HeartSmart Kids™ program
– Helping Canadians eat better thanks to enhanced food labeling and Health Check™ shopping choices

The results we achieve today will benefit Canadians’ health for years and generations to come. Thank you for being part of this vitally important cause, helping the Heart and Stroke Foundation continue protecting the health and lives of not just heart and stroke patients – but all Canadians, young and old. (The goal of the Heart and Stroke around the world is the same as in Canada… and therefore, we are accomplishing a world wide improvement with each donation of time and finances, where possible)

Responses

  1. Sweetie, how can I donate in US dollars? It specifies Canadian $… and I’d like to add my 2 cents. 😉

  2. Right now hon… CDN is pratically at par with the US dollar – so consider it $ for $.

    I’m not sure if there is an option to donate in US funds… I believe that it is in Canadian $$ since it is a Canadian event. I know that for when I have sponsored a US charity – I have been able to use my charitable receipt at tax time, even in US funds. Does it work the same way for you guys?

    Not sure if this will help you…

  3. Now THAT is a bike. Is it hard to pedal? I ask because it looks lick it alone would be enough to cause heart/stroke problems.

    Lost my grandmother to stroke on July 4 a few years ago. At least we were all there with her and she was surrounded by four generations of family.

  4. Its looks difficult.. but pedal a lot of air for the most part… but you can break a sweat though!!

    I lost my mother when I was 4 (1978 – you do the math) to a heart attack. She was in the hospital due to complications from gastric bypass surgery. There was nothing they could do. Both paternal and maternal grandparent died of heart disease… and my father has Atherosclerosis – as does his brothers – but because he also has kidney disease – there’s nothing they can do for him at this time… surgery will kill him either way.

    I love this organization because they make incredible advancements in medical surgeries. The best in North America is right here in my town. And I hope that one day… maybe just maybe something can be done for my dad. And hopefully, I won’t suffer the same fate as my relatives… and keep on living with a healthy heart.

  5. Wow, sorry to hear about your mom. Just lost my mom a few months ago. And your dad, too… jeez.

    After some research a while back I found that Michigan, namely the University of Michigan, also has an exceptional cardiac facility. Rated in the top five in the US.

    All the same, better to eat right and stay healthy and not have to use their services.

  6. When it’s heriditary… all the healthy foods and exercise won’t do squat … sadly. Although I am more than willing to go that route… ’cause it’s better to be safe than sorry.

    Awh… so tell me… are you a MI fan… or Ohio State???

  7. Hey KC – I zoomed into the pic where you said you were being a goofball and waving your hands… was that a green bush masquerading as your hair or the other way around?

    Either way, the effect looks cool. I can just picture myself coming into work like that. I do things like that now and then to keep ’em on their toes. One year I glued the tips of deer antlers to my forehead with superglue. Looked quite evil and got lots of startled stares. It was worth it. As I recall (sort of) it took 5-6 beers to work up the nerve to yank them off that night.

    I’m neither a MI or Ohio fan, actually. I’m a Duck, having grown up outside of Eugene, Oregon. So, you see, green is high on my list of favorite colors.

  8. LOL.. it was a bush that was in the background at head level… I have curly hair… but not green hair!!!

  9. Hmmmm… That does sound like a great cause. Is there any way that we can throw a little U.S. dollars your guys’ way?

  10. You can make donations online – it will be in CDN dollars but they will accept American money – converted to CDN… if that helps? I’ve had people from all around the world donate to this cause… but everything is converted into Canadian when you go online.

  11. […] Bike for Heart Stroke is this Friday, June 13th.  I blogged about it here.  I am really stoked at people’s generosity.  It’s hard this time of year as everyone is […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

