Posted by: ~KC~ | June 9, 2008

Linkfest Gallour…

After a pretty wicked storm that blew into town last night and most of SW Ontario and good parts of Michigan… my Monday morning drive in was spent weaving down a highway avoiding branches and fallen trees.  Crews have been sent out to confirm if indeed a tornado touched ground yesterday in a community very nearby.  Roofs were blown off, trees toppled over… all over SW Ontario.

 

Good times.

 

But the ‘after’ storm weather felt great… cooling the thick, hot, stale air… but not before almost giving my father a heart attack.  It was a few very scary moments – as the power went out for an hour & half and me watching over my stubborn father as he clenched his chest and his refusal for emergency services.  Thank god for his Nitro – took a while for it to ease the pains but it worked.

 

Only to have him hauling upstairs my old, heavy window air conditioner and me yelling at him in sheer horror … that man is going to be the death of me.  He’s fine today… thank goodness!!!

 

Anyhow – my weekend was filled with idiocy on my part.  Also some pretty pathetic and very BAD pick up lines… and the true colours of so-called ‘friends’ appeared at the surface.  Now I remember why I went on my self-imposed cave-dwelling retreat.  This weekend was the fuel I needed to make the right decisions and concentrate my frustrations into getting what I want out of life.  And although I have only heard back rejections – I am not giving up on my goals.

 

So today’s post is all about links…

 

Because there’s a few things that are coming up that I think you guys might find interesting and just maybe… some of you brave souls might find fun enough to want to join in.

 

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ 

 

A few bloggers – some from Moronsphere and the rest of us who aren’t – will be getting together the weekend of 27-30 June 2008 in Ann Arbour Michigan area, rain or shine but preferably shine (I’ll do my best rain dance to the weather gods… ).  I’m really looking forward to it.  Should be fun!

 

(Don’t let ‘Moronsphere’ frighten or worry you – they aren’t idiots!  In fact, they are rather entertaining and VERY talented bloggers – and it will prove to be a very good time!!!)

 

Click here or here for more details  

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

 

Big Bike for Heart Stroke is this Friday, June 13th.  I blogged about it here.  I am really stoked at people’s generosity.  It’s hard this time of year as everyone is bombarded with donation requests… but I am here to ask you for your support, where possible.

 

All donations made are in Canadian funds.  Your international dollars will be converted into Canadian dollars.  Online donations generate an immediate income tax receipts.

 

If you would like to help the girl out in meeting her goals and making a difference in the forward movement of Heart & Stroke research… please do so!!!

 

Click here to donate online.

Thanking you in advance for your kind generosity.

And if you are more comfortable donating to your own national H&S organization, please follow the links below to find the closest local chapter.

Canada 

US

 

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

   

The destruction by fire of Alma College has proven to be quite the wake up call to our small town… and a wake up call to MANY Canadians.  There remains a call to review and revise our Canadian Heritage Act, which in its current form, painfully ineffective.

 

Many citizens have gathered together to restore the Amphitheater and have been generously accepting donations of either time, cash or flowers in order to restore this unique and historical venue.  We may have lost the College but there’s no need to also loose this unique feature that is not seen in many cities.  A Facebook Group has been created to support this event as well – check it out if you feel so inclined.

 

Come out as a family to help out.  Donate where possible.  Send your support for those who are working hard at restoring the Grand Dame’s legacy and beauty.

 

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

  

 That’s it for now.  Things are a changing.

 

One simply has to stay afloat when the tidal waves hit shore… and find ways to keep the heart hopeful with generous acts of kindness…

 

At least – it’s a good starting point… and one must start somewhere… good Karma… pay it forward…

Responses

  1. Come one, come all! Step right up to the most opinionated meeting of the minds this world has ever known since Gary Coleman met David Hasselhoff on the set of Knight Rider! It’s the MORONOSPHERE MEETING OF THE MORONS!!!

    You guys will be missing out as well as loose your “I’m the coolest kid on the block” status if you don’t attend.

    I mean it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

