Posted by: ~KC~ | June 12, 2008

We Ride… Rain or Shine

Tomorrow, Friday June 13th, I ride for my past. My present. And for my future. I ride one big goofy bike to make a difference in my world… and hopefully make a world of difference for someone who needs it.

The best thing to give to your enemy is forgiveness; to an opponent, tolerance; to a friend, your heart; to your child, a good example; to a father, deference; to your mother, conduct that will make her proud of you; to yourself, respect; to all men, charity. ~ Francis Maitland Balfour

In the last week, I raised over $700 CDN for the Big Bike for Heart and Stroke. And although it is nowhere near my goal of a $1,000, I am not going to beat myself up. It’s not bad really. I still have a few hours tomorrow to canvass an already inundated market for pledges and donations. The closer I’ll get to my personal goal… the more I will feel I am accomplishing something towards this cause that is near and dear to my heart. And coworkers have been very generous thus far. They know that this is a cause that I champion at work – and many recognize that. They applaud my efforts and recognize the work that goes into fundraising and championing the Heart and Stroke. I was rewarded financially a few years back for the charity work I had done that year.

That’s not the point. But it was really nice to be recognized as a champion for a good cause – and the personal rewards and emotional fulfillment in knowing you are truly making a difference is indescribable. Now – how can I highlight these skills in a résumé??? I will have to figure that one out – if there’s a way – I’ll find it!!

I had wanted to do a Charity/Silent Auction Golf Tournament this year to raise more funds. In the previous years, I received tremendous response from the company and raised a couple thousand dollars for the said charitable organization. And everyone keeps asking me when the next one will be. I don’t know if I’ll have the time. Mind you – golfing season has just really begun and I might still find the time to organize such an event… so who knows. The local chapter of the Heart and Stroke Society asked if I would consider being a committee member for the upcoming Walk for Heart in September. I said I would gladly be a committee member – something that I can get my father involved in as well.

So tomorrow – we ride. Rain or shine, unless of course there happens to be thunder and lightening. The theme is Red Carpet… so I got designed some pretty cool T-Shirts (sponsored by the Social Committee thru work). I have almost a full bike (a few last minute drop outs, to be expected) and a lot of excited participants who have never done this kind of event before and have fundraised for the first time ever. I must say – they make me proud and have hit the floor running, collecting pledges and donations for this incredible event.

I also really really want to give a shout out to the Avanoo community – many of whom sponsored me in this event – from around the world. They are truly a GREAT community and I am eternally grateful for their love and support. They truly are working at making a difference in this world.

I will take pictures and post them soon enough. And for me… what better Father’s Day present than to ride this goofy 30-seater bike, to raise money…. In the hopes that one day, hopefully soon, there could be a procedure that could save my father’s life… and I might have more time with him than I do now.

This is for you mom and dad, Grandpa and Grandma… always and forever in my healthy heart. I might not be able to bring your hearts back to life… but I will do what I can to make sure that yours remains alive and well in my healthy heart.

Responses

  1. good ride, KC!
    hugs 😀

  2. Have a fantastic time! Drink lots of water!! 🙂

  3. mmh… the link on the Avanoo is not correct!!!
    😛

    Rob

  4. FIXED!!!

  5. I hope your ride went well. Great job raising that much money.


Leave a Reply

Categories

