Posted by: ~KC~ | June 16, 2008

Generosity of Spirit Abound…

I had a conversation.

With my mom.

Just before we were to ride the bike.

It was raining… and storms were predicted.

I asked her if she could pull some strings with Momma Nature up there… ‘cause the team was about to ride for all those who we lost… and all those we can save from heart disease.

I asked her to see what she could do to help her girl out.

Pretty please?  I love you mom!!!

 

An my momma came thru with flying colours.

Second year in a row.

It was raining prior to our turn to ride… enough to be bothersome…

And resumed raining very shortly after we were done.

But the skies parted… in time for The Ride.

And we rode.

And I believe with all my heart… my mom rode with me that day… with the team… loving every minute of it.

 

We made lots of noises… we laughed… some sang… some flirted with cute pedestrians and motorists.  WE kicked butt.

 

I’m very proud of our team.  They had a blast and really got into the spirit of the event… The team exceeded the team goal and raised a wooping $3,362 and growing – without company sponsorship either!!  Many were first time fundraisers and riders… and I am beyond happy.  In all the years I’ve been doing this – this is the first time we exceeded our team goal. 

 

And this is the first time that I exceeded my personal fundraising goal.

 

It never ceases to move me when genuinely good hearted people move mountains for you.  And they do so willingly… I shed a few tears of joy when I saw just how generous the human spirit can be.  And I have no clue how to thank them… I’m not sure it would suffice.  It restores my faith that there is more good in this world than there is gloom and doom.

 

And for that… I smile.

Happily.

 

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~  

Father’s day came and went.

I felt terrible for my father… for not one of his other children called him, sent an email or even a card for Father’s Day.

It broke my heart.

His birthday is tomorrow… and I already know that the same thing will happen.

There’s a big reason why I stay far away from my siblings.

So I made him breakfast and took him out for a Father’s Day/Birthday diner.  I know he was happy but felt slightly awkward.  But it was a fun diner… and I know he is proud of me… as I am of him.

 

So … here’s a little something for my Dad…

 

The poetic juices aren’t flowing so here is a little something I found that I think speaks what I feel like saying but lack the words to express gently and lovingly as these do:

 

Happy Father’s Daymeans more than have a happy day.
Within those words lie lots of things I never get to say.
It means I love you first of all,
Then thanks for all you do.
It means you mean a lot to me,
And that I honor you.

But most of all, I guess it means that I am thinking of…
Your happiness on this, your day,
with pleasure and with love.
~ Author Unknown
 
 
 

 

 

Responses

  1. Mom’s have a way of coming through in a pinch. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

