Posted by: ~KC~ | June 24, 2008

Insane

Parents: be warned!

If you want to ground your child/children for disobedience… you just might get your disciplinary action overruled in court. 

 

And now I know why I don’t think children are gonna be part of my future…

 

Ugh!  No thanks – especially if this is what the future holds…

 

Don’t spank (I’m not talking beating – there is a HUGE difference), don’t ground, don’t discipline… what’s next?  Don’t talk too or look at your kids?  Dear Lord. 

OTTAWA (AFP) – A Canadian court has lifted a 12-year-old girl’s grounding, overturning her father’s punishment for disobeying his orders to stay off the Internet, his lawyer said Wednesday.

The girl had taken her father to Quebec Superior Court after he refused to allow her to go on a school trip for chatting on websites he tried to block, and then posting “inappropriate” pictures of herself online using a friend’s computer.

The father’s lawyer Kim Beaudoin said the disciplinary measures were for the girl’s “own protection” and is appealing the ruling.

“She’s a child,” Beaudoin told AFP. “At her age, children test their limits and it’s up to their parents to set boundaries.”

“I started an appeal of the decision today to reestablish parental authority, and to ensure that this case doesn’t set a precedent,” she said. Otherwise, said Beaudoin, “parents are going to be walking on egg shells from now on.”

“I think most children respect their parents and would never go so far as to take them to court, but it’s clear that some would and we have to ask ourselves how far this will go.”

According to court documents, the girl’s Internet transgression was just the latest in a string of broken house rules. Even so, Justice Suzanne Tessier found her punishment too severe.

Beaudoin noted the girl used a court-appointed lawyer in her parents’ 10-year custody dispute to launch her landmark case against dear old dad..

EDITThis is ONE province and not a Canada-wide issue.  And to boot, it’s Québec – a rather controversial province at that.  Let’s NOT judge all of CANADA by a single solitary judge who’s ridiculous ruling puts a child in jeopardy.

Responses

  1. The point, I guess, is that being “a parent” today is one of the most difficul things to do.

    If you’re too rude is a trauma for the kids, if you’re too soft they don’t get the right education and it’s a “job” you learn day by day…

    And soon will be my turn, I am scared about all this, a lot!

  2. I have had to do very difficult things in my life Rob.. but the idea of raising a child with this sort of insanity that can happen… frightens the bejezus out of me… I think you will do well as a Dad – culturally maybe things are different where you are than here. I’d have to seriously reconsider where I live and the conditions in which I live under before birthing a child.

    It just boggles my mind at how people expect parents to raise their children when shit like this occurs – AND I’m not talking about abusive parents. Then everyone wonders what is wrong with the kids today… and how fucked up they are.

    Be strong… you have a good foundation Rob…

  3. this is crazy! but you can see that it goes deeper than a punishment- 10 yr old custody battle- i’m sure this had to be driven by the mom in some way…shoo! i just wrote a post about spanking your kids….good thing i’m here! 🙂

    connie at itsmrstoyou dot blogspot dot com

  4. Warning: Ramble-Rant Alert (but not out of control)

    Nope, beating is a no-no, but that is a far cry from a swat on the butt for violating three ground rules (1) ignoring three times of being asked to do something, (2) subsequent defiance “NO!”, and (3) my favorite, the evil eye.

    At some point that kid has to have some respect for you. I refuse to be one of these prissy parents that feels this insane need to be their kids’ best friend. That is *not* the role of a parent. It’s to keep them alive, screw them up as little as possible, and ensure that they grow up to be respectful of others and productive members of society.

    This turpentine-soaked-wood-splinter-under-the-fingernail concept is fresh with me because I’ve got a very intelligent and willful 5 year old (female were-beast) and am struggling with her for control.

    Rob, if you are married and have a solid relationship the job will go well. Don’t stress it. If you are on rocky ground it might take more work but still is do-able. You have to work hard to get where this father is (and have a psycho-mom in the picture, apparently). Just the fact that you are worried shows that you won’t be cavalier about it at all and is an excellent sign.

    But having the nanny state step in? They would have to take my kid away before I would submit to that kind of total disrespect bullsh*t from the government on behalf of my kid – thereby signaling to my kid that they hold the reins, not me. At that point, this poor sack is reduced to being a source of funding for a spoiled rotten little monster, not a father.

    Another thing… if your kid is such a twerp that they are rebellious in a fashion that makes *taking you to court* seem like a viable option… you lost the battle long ago.

  5. I wondered what would happen if I did something like this awhile ago. Then I stopped, because I thought for sure nothing would happen–I mean, isn’t it the parents’ job to raise their kid?

    The poor dad. What a kid he must have.

    But who’s paying her court fees? The dad? The state? (Heaven forbid) Her? Wow.

  6. Most of the time Ankher – its the County/Province/State that pays for a court appointed attorney. Which means – our tax money is paying for such bullshit. (Sorry – the language – I know Ankher but it upsets me.)

  7. This really bothered me, as let me get this straight… I’m allowed to have a child, cater to that child, and then I have to let it turn into a spoiled brat, because God help me if I discipline said child?

    Ugh.

    Yes, children do these kinds of things, and grounding them is a normal part of teaching them that mistakes do have consequences.

    And yet we can’t figure out why younger generations are getting more and more out of control, expecting everything to be handed to them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

