Posted by: ~KC~ | June 26, 2008

Canada Day

The simple things in life are really about being present – the when and where’s of life.  The memories of yesterday and the hopefulness and plans for tomorrow, while paying attention to the very moment that is NOW.  To me that makes sense… maybe not to everyone else.  There is tremendous pleasure in the when and where’s… at least for the most part… and being present for them is truly unequivocal.

 

In spite of some pretty strange on goings – I am proud to be Canadian and can’t imagine being anywhere else but here… in spite of what many tell me –  I’m not destined to stay in Canada… only time will tell… but no matter when and where… Canada will always be home.

 

In 1867, Canada became… well Canada, then known as ‘The Dominion of Canada.’  All in all, we are a rather young independent country…. But our history goes back much further… but I don’t want to get into our history today because it’s just not the point.

 

I’m heading into our holiday long weekend a bit earlier than the average Canadian.  Our company has given us 27-30 June off rather than the official Statutory holiday of 01 July off.  And instead of sticking around for various celebratory events, I’m meeting up with a bunch of Americans in Michigan. LOL… sounds funny to me… but c’est la vie!  Perhaps a bit ironic considering many of these folks don’t think much of Canada… and our liberal ways.  Nonetheless, I’ll have my Canadian flag paraphernalia readily available to keep my roots nearby and keep me grounded.  I feel the need to be grounded… but I want to be able to enjoy the spontaneity that will be this coming weekend.  Forging new friendships, alliances and acquaintances… enjoying the moments as they come and being present for them is all I ask for.  Life cannot be planned… even if the control freak in me would love to know it can… the curious child in me wants to just go with the unplanned flow.  I got my check list in order… let’s just hope that the one person who is the glue that got this thing going… get off the plane when I show up to pick him up.  The rest… we’ll wing it!  I’m willing to tempt fate… to take a chance… and spend time with the unknown.

 

Anyhow… this is our time.  Canada’s times.  Yes.  We have some oddities and idiosyncrasies.  Don’t we all?  But we are still working towards the days that we become… what we are to become.  Our light is still shining… a beacon of hope, giving many the strength to carry on, in spite of our flaws.   Because that is what Canada is for many, not just those of us who live within her protective walls.

 

Here’s something interesting… at least to me.  I recently found out that one of my father’s distant family member is responsible for writing the French portion of our Canadian Anthem.  Yup.  A distant relative of mine played an important part in our Canadian History.  Sir Adolphe Basile Routhier is a distant relation to my father’s family.  Cool, eh?  I think so… And even more impressive is that after MANY versions of Wier’s poem that is Canada’s anthem – the French version has been untouched since it was commissioned/completed.

 

Anyhow… this is the official Canadian Anthem (finally adopted in 1980)… with the French version being that of a distant relation with the English meaning in brackets next to it…

 

O Canada!
Our home and native land!
True patriot love in all thy sons command.
With glowing hearts we see thee rise,
The True North strong and free!
From far and wide,


O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.
God keep our land glorious and free!
O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.
O Canada, we stand on guard for thee
.

O Canada!
Terre de nos aïeux,
  (Land of our forefathers)
Ton front est ceint de fleurons glorieux!  (Thy brow is wreathed with a glorious garland of flowers)
Car ton bras sait porter l’épée,  (As in thy arm ready to wield the sword,)
Il sait porter la croix!  (So also is it ready to carry the cross)
Ton histoire est une epopee (Thy history is an epic)
Des plus brillants exploits.  (Of the most brilliant exploits)
Et ta valeur, de foi trempée, (Thy valour steeped in faith)
Protégera nos foyers et nos droits, (Will protect our homes and our rights)
Protégera nos foyers et nos droits.  (Will protect our homes and our rights)

So to the many Canadian’s who will be out celebrating this weekend… Happy Canada’s Day.  Never forget your roots… never forget your when’s and where’s – no matter where you are in the world.  Stand proud beneath our red and white maple flag.  For it is a symbol of hope and freedom to so many around the world.

And to our troops… come home safely… And thank you for standing on guard – not just ‘for thee’ but for the world.

Responses

  1. On the contrary, KC… a lot of us LOVE Canada, but despair of some of the things we hear coming from there – a huge case in point was the court ruling in your previous post. Yes, we have those awful things happen here, but you guys seem to be having a higher per-capita incidence than we do.

    As an insight (not an emotional bashing of anyone) mostly, Americans are getting quite bitter about being considered the bad guys and getting slammed around a lot. For all it’s weaknesses (and there are quite a few), the US has done more to try to help out in the world – bar none. We’d just like someone to recognize that w/o a sneer now and then. (NOT saying that’s you or anyone I know from Canada! I see it MUCH more in Europe.) We’re headed towards isolationism again and that worked out very badly last time.

    Anyway, looking forward to your being here – you’re probably on your way. We have pig, pig, more pig, and some chicken parts to be smoked, and lips to be smacked and bibs to be tucked before we snarf.

    – Lemur King

  2. Perhaps the feeling is mutual… Canadians despair at what we read and see coming from the USA. So I think we are even on that front – but I don’t know about the higher incidence rate that the US. Perhaps it is perception – and what one deems as desparate!

    Anyhow… this isn’t a US vs. Canada post – this is HAPPY BIRTHDAY CANADA post… and I would like to keep it that way. And when it’s a Happy Birthday US – I will be there cheerleading my neighbours on… and wishing you well.. and giving thanks for being pretty decent neighbours… LOL!!!

  3. We went to the Canadian Consulate bbq party here in Seattle yesterday – thank you so much for that, KC, we had fun (I say thank you because, of course, your tax dollars paid for our total familial consumption of 10 beers and 3 wines, 2 hot dogs and 2 hamburgers, and a handful of Smartie boxes, Aero bars and Coffee Crisps 🙂

    We’re gearing up for our party tomorrow but I doubt we’ll do any anthem stuff, although our neighbours want us to. I’m too afraid I’ll start crying if I hear the anthem.

    But we’ve put together a trivia questionnaire for our party tomorrow – complete with one zinger question about which year dog sleds were no longer official Canadian transportation….can’t resist adding a question like that in. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

