Posted by: ~KC~ | August 26, 2008

The 411

The short & sweet version…

So I’m off this week too. So much to do and so very little time. In a weird way… I am lucky that no one has called to view the house because I still have lots of shit everywhere… but it’s coming along. Its finally listed on MLS.CA (click to see the link) – I’m a little frustrated with my agent at the moment – she has done nothing but criticize my pictures claiming I’m making the rooms look smaller than they are… ultimately being a disservice to myself. Ugh. I told her if she doesn’t like them… then to come take them herself. Instead – she just didn’t post them at all. So far… not overly impressed but I’m also completely exhausted and very irate at the moment. I’ve lost a lot of steam and momentum. I’m fed up with it all. My hands are raw from the cleaning supplies and my knees hurt like hell from scrubbing floors and what not.

I hope that it sells fast. I need it to be done and over with.

So… last week – I was contacted by a company out West whom I had applied for sometime in July. I don’t actually remember applying but apparently I did. Anyhow… the HR dept sent me an email asking me if I would be interested in a position in Vancouver… well now! I immediately contacted them and we had two very successful telephone interviews, the second one being with two different managers, who were fighting over me. It’s all very flattering… ultimately I would get to choose the position that interests me the most… at this point. When I told them my salary expectations – she (HR) told me that it was very reasonable and she could do better for me. I told her if she could – I would be her #1 cheerleader.

So they are now flying me out to Vancouver for a face to face interview this Thursday… putting me up at a very nice & expensive hotel in the heart of Vancouver. I return on Saturday. My interviews are set for Thursday afternoon, leaving me with Friday to explore the city. I am very much looking forward to this mini-vacation… and will do my best to make the most of my time in Vancouver.

So far, this company and position matches ‘My Job’ list and description I made out back in June. It is with a very reputable company … in a new industry to me… and indicated they will help me with my desires to further my education.

My father is beyond excited for me. He’s telling everyone how this company is fighting over me and flying me out to them … etc… LOL… he’s proud. Let’s just put it that way. Especially after all this time, working for a company that did nothing but tell me that I have nothing to offer and should consider quitting & taking a cut in wages because I have nothing to offer. I’ve had enough. The funny thing is this – when I am offered a position with this new company – I will be handing in my resignation at my current employer. They already know I am planning on leaving. The exciting part of this is that… if all goes well… I will be resigning on my 9th anniversary with the company… to the day. I am very much looking forward to that day. I’d rather be bought out… but somehow I know, they are way too cheap for that.

I took an extra week off at work – this week. What’s the worst they can do? Fire me? I can only dream. My father cannot do all this work by himself… his body simply can’t do it. He’s hurting to much… and I am doing everything I can to help him to the best that I can. It’s a huge undertaking – to do what we’ve done in 2 weeks is insane. So I needed this extra week. And dammit – I’m taking it.

I’m seriously exhausted. And it feels really slow at times. But it’s coming together. And I’m doing a lot of bitching along the way.

Responses

  1. Good luck with the house- and dude…tell your agent to fix all the typos in the listing!!

  2. Ugh… I sent her an email. Not impressive!

  3. Wow! She does have a lot of typos!

    Love the cat in the one picture, though!

  4. Good luck on your interview, too, by the way!

  5. Hey, great news on the job hunt! I really hope that works out for you. Cool house too. If I could relocate it to Las Vegas I’d buy it :-).

  6. Good luck to you!!!! Fingers are crossed as soon as I’m done typing!

  7. It sounds like the Vancouver job is in the bag, but all the best with the interview on Thursday nonetheless. 😉

  8. KC I’m so thrilled for you, and so impressed that your dad has been able to pull off what he has done to the house. You both deserve medals for what you guys have done to the house… it looks amazing!

    I know that this face to face interview will be fantastic. Kudos for the hotel hook up! Do me a favor and steal a bathrobe for me, mmkay? 😉

  9. Sounds like it all coming together. Grouchy RE agent or no.

  10. Your house looks beautiful. It is listed at a good price. I love the fireplace. Hope it sells fast for you. Hope your interview goes great. Thanks for the award too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

