Posted by: ~KC~ | September 6, 2008

Saturday Musical Express

I was at the airport waiting to come home.
I passed by the Virgin store and heard this amazing blusy/R&Bish/jazzified music and immediately stopped.
I had to find out who this was.

The clerk was this young bubbly lady… who was delighted that I loved what I heard and brought me to where this CD was.
It is RARE that I will buy a CD based on a brief 30 seconds of hearing it… but I have done it in the past… with very little regret.

And this one… absolute NO regret.
It’s freakin’ AMAZING!
Of course – you must be a fan of blues, old skool R&B with hints of smooth Louisianna jazz… and this will sooth your weary soul…
Yeah baby!

Now what surprised me the most was… Hucknall.
The one and only Mick Hucknall.
I recognized the name but couldn’t place it.
Until I read the booklet.
He’s the lead singer of Simply Red.
Which is no wonder I love this CD.
I love the vibe of Simply Red.

So… Here is a small documentary of the making of this album.
If this vibe suits you… support this album.
Its worth every dollar spent in a world of free or pirated digital downloads…

Responses

  1. Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland = legend.

    Mick Hucknall = he’s a fellow Manchester resident who we as a city would be happy to indefinitely export. Sorry. 😦

    His music appears to be appreciated outside the UK though, so I’ll leave it at that. 😉

  2. Hmm… I might enjoy this one…


Leave a Reply

Categories

