Posted by: ~KC~ | February 10, 2009

Talking Stick Festival…

I saw something pretty damn amazing today.

Perhaps one of the perks of working for VANOC… I get to experience certain things that I wouldn’t normally get to participate in at any other job.

 

As part of the Talking Stick Festival and part of the one year countdown to the 2010 Winter Olympics, our Cultural Olympiad function brought in some incredible artists, to highlight the people behind the Olympic symbol, the Inukshuk.

 

inukshuk

(Please note: The above picture is NOT the Olympic emblem – rather it is my picture taken of an Inukshuk.)

 

WOW.

Powerful.

And of course, I happened to forget my camera on my coffee table at home.

Ugh.

Double ugh (especially considering that I spent a good part of the night reminding myself to not forget it)

 

I got to the Atrium a little late.  But I experienced something extremely moving.  I saw Throat Singing (Becky Kilabuk and Celina Kalluk)an incredibly difficult form of singing that was just incredibly and insanely AMAZING.  I learned that it is a competition, each one trying to out-sing the other by finishing the other’s note to start another – picking up speed each time.  It was great!

 

I saw the man behind the music from the movie “Antanarjuat (The Fast Runner)” (2001 Cannes Film Festival Winner) (Nunavut Drum Dancer Allen Auksaq) drum and sing/dance beautifully the theme song of this movie.

 

I watched incredible demonstrations of agility, talent and brute strength watching a 200 medal Inuit Games winner demonstrating various Jumping Game techniques.

 

But one thing that never ceases to amazing me is drumming.  The powerful vibrations it creates, moves me to tears each and every time.  Doesn’t matter when or where… it just does.  I would be a puddle of tears if I didn’t try hard to contain myself during some of the drumming sessions.  It simply reaches in and takes a hold of me.

 

What I got to see today was simply amazing.

 

I’ve often said Canada has no culture really of it own – since we are a country built on immigration… therefore borrowing cultures from around the world.

Well technically – we still don’t.  But watching our First Nations and Inuit Nations share with us their beliefs and culture… made me feel that for the first time, we, CANADA, really do have something that is purely unique and spiritual to share with the world.

 

The Legacy of the Games (or at least part of the Legacy) is to unite Canadians and to show the World what we are about.

 

Today, I felt very proud to have seen something worthy of showing the world.

Leave a Reply

Categories

